The Rare, The New, The Wonderful 6th July 2013, LSO St Luke's, London

Part One (20'00")

Movement III from *Three Pieces* (2013) (1'30") by Raymond Yiu (b.1973) Max Mausen (clarinet)

Snapshot (2012) (4'30") by Steve Martland (1959-2013) Mariko Asakawa-North (piano)

Two movements form Improvisations for Solo Violin (1977) (6'00") by Odaline de la Martinez (b.1949) I. Apasionado II. Rustico

Jonathan Chan (violin)

shima (2013) (7'00") by Oliver Christophe Leith (b.1990) (world premiere of complete work) Joanna Jaga Klimaszewska (violin) Rachel Lanskey (viola) Aaron Burrows (toy piano)

Four songs from A Pretence of Wit (2010) (5'00") by Edward Nesbit (b.1986)
I. The Dawn

IV. To a Squirrel at Kyle-na-no

Part Three (29'00")

White Snow in The Sunny Spring (4'00") Cheng Yu (pipa)

Trio: In Space Enlaced (2008/2012) (6'30") by Christian Mason (b.1984) (UK premiere of present version) Flavia Hirte(flute) Karla Powell (oboe) Max Mausen (clarinet)

Podskok Variations (14'00")

(world premiere)

Tema: podskok (Flowingly and playfully) – Raymond Yiu

Var. I: (J. = ca. 50) – Patrick Brennan
Var. II: Gentle and delicate – Fung Lam
Var. III: Lightly dancing – Toby Young
Var. IV: Simple, musing – Anjula Semmens
Var. V: Scherzando – Edward Nesbit

Var. VI: Loose End (Molto tranquillo) – Colin Matthews

Var. VII: Hop, Skip, Jump (Fast) – Jonathan Dove

Var. VIII: Space – The Final Frontier (Largo) – Richard Casuton Var. IX: Podskok Sacrale: (Allegro vivace) – Matthew Kaner Var. X: Plainly and evenly stressed ($\sqrt{}$ = 58) – William Cheshire

Var. XI: Late Night Ray Gets Jazzy (Adagietto rubato e tenero) – Cheryl Frances-Hoad

Var. XII: Alla marcia maestoso/Languid – Morgan Hayes

Var. XIII: Ragskip (Scherzando) – Martin Butler

Julia Samojlo (piano) Siwan Rhys (piano)

Forget-Me-Not (2003) (4'30") by Raymond Yiu Madeleine Holmes (soprano) lestyn Morris (counter tenor) Gavin Roberts (piano) III. To his Heart, Bidding it have no Fear II. The Hawk Madeleine Holmes (soprano) Gavin Roberts (piano)

Part Two (20'45")

D'ombre et de silence (1973) (3'45") by Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013) Janet Obi-Keller (piano)

Hamp (2013) for solo vibraphone (3'00") by Raymond Yiu Felicity Hindle (vibraphone)

Two Songs from Notes on Love (2007) (3'00") by Joseph Atkins (b.1981) Madeleine Holmes (soprano) Gavin Robert (piano)

Rundown (2008) (3'00") by Darren Bloom (b.1982) Emily Bloom (recorder)

Impromptu on a theme of Henri Dutilleux (1994) (4'00") by Richard Rodney Bennett (1936-2012) Rob Keeley (piano)